Contact us

There are three regional Employment Relations Authority offices: in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch. The Auckland office covers the top of the North Island, Wellington office covers middle and lower-North Island. The Christchurch office covers the South Island.

COVID-19 UPDATE 25 September 2020

This update sets out arrangements the Employment Relations Authority (the Authority) has made to deal with applications and investigations while Covid-19 Alert restrictions are in place (the restrictions) across Aotearoa. It replaces an earlier update issued by the Authority on 31 August 2020

In-person investigations meetings: subject to health and safety, venue and travel considerations. Where appropriate the Authority may continue investigations of some matters via teleconference, audio-visual link or by considering written evidence and written submissions only.

Health and safety requirements for in-person investigation meetings: The Authority is committed to keeping parties, representatives and witnesses safe during in-person investigation meetings. Specific guidance will be issued to parties and representatives in advance of investigation meetings. Parties and representatives are expected to cooperate with the Authority in respect of this guidance.

Adjourned investigation meetings and matters under direction: All postponed investigation meetings will be placed on the Authority prioritised waitlist. Parties and representatives will be contacted by the Authority when it is ready to proceed to investigate their matter.

Lodging new applications: Parties and representatives are encouraged to lodge new applications to the Authority online or as an attachment to an email.

Lodge an ERA application

The Authority’s Auckland offices will be closed to the general public up to and including 5 October 2020 and applications may be lodged by post, courier or drop boxes located at the office’s entry point. Applications and other documents may now be lodged in person in Wellington and Christchurch.

Contacting Authority offices: The Authority’s administrative staff are available by email and telephone to deal with queries about matters.

In all emails please include, where known, the seven-digit file number in the subject line as well as the parties’ names.

Case management conferences: Authority Members will convene case management conferences by telephone with parties or their representatives to discuss arrangements for dealing with new applications.

Timetable directions: Unless the Authority has made some other direction, parties should continue to follow timetable directions already made to lodge witness statements and documents for investigation meetings that have been adjourned and other matters under direction.

Service of statement of problems: The Authority will effect service of applications by email or courier delivery for all regions.

Affidavits for interim applications: Affidavits in support of applications for interim reinstatement or interim injunctions should ensure these are sworn before a solicitor, justice of the peace or court register. Where this is not possible, parties and representatives should contact the Authority. A procedure is in place to deal with such a circumstance.

Directions to mediation: Parties and representatives are expected to comply with any direction made by the Authority to mediation and to co-operate in taking part in mediation by whatever means the mediator decides is appropriate under s 147 of the Employment Relations Act 2000 (the Act).

Fees for applications: The fee for applications must still be paid during the restrictions. The relevant legislation does not permit the Authority to waive its fees. Any award of costs and expenses made to successful applicants may include reimbursement of those fees.

Forms and fees

Timeframes for grievances: Parties and representatives are reminded that the statutory requirements for personal grievances to be raised within 90 days and to pursue a grievance within three years remain unchanged during the restrictions. Any exception to the 90-day rule would require an application under s 114(4) and s 115 of the Act


Contact your regional office:

Auckland office

The Auckland office covers the following regions:

  • Northland
  • Auckland
  • Coromandel
  • Bay of Plenty
  • East Coast
  • Waikato
  • Central Plateau


  • Mail:
  • PO Box 105 117
  • DX CX10257
  • Auckland 1143
  • Phone:
  • 09 970 1550
  • Fax: 09 970 1579
  • Location:
  • Level 10, The 280 Centre
  • 280 Queen Street
  • Auckland

Wellington office

The Wellington office covers the following regions:

  • Wellington
  • Manawatu-Wanganui
  • Hawke's Bay
  • Wairarapa
  • Taranaki


  • Mail:
  • PO Box 2458
  • DX SX11191
  • Wellington
  • Phone:
  • 04 915 9550
  • Fax: 04 915 9549
  • Location:
  • Mezzanine floor
  • 50 Customhouse Quay
  • Wellington 6011

Christchurch office

The Christchurch office covers the South Island:

  • Marlborough
  • Nelson
  • Canterbury
  • West Coast
  • Otago
  • Southland
  • Fiordland
  • Stewart Island


  • Mail:
  • PO Box 13 892
  • Christchurch
  • Phone:
  • 03 964 7850
  • Location:
  • Level 1, Taylor Shaw House
  • 53 Victoria St
  • Christchurch 8013